Tun Musa Hitam Proud To Be A Liberal, What A Pity

Tun Musa Hitam

Always a moderate and proud to be one – said Former Deputy Prime Minister, Tun Musa Hitam to The Star in an interview at his house in Bukit Tunku.

“First let me say this emphatically and very firmly – I have always been a liberal and a moderate and am proud of it. I have been brought up from young until now as such. My family, my parents, my elders brought me up that way, and in my more grown up days since I entered politics, my political party Umno adopted the stance of moderation from the early days that we gained Independence. But I don’t know what’s happening there now,” Tun Musa Hitam. – The Star

“I have always been a liberal and a moderate and am proud of it”?

I do not understand how could a Muslim be proud to disobey the rules of Islam.

It is very sad when a person says that he is proud to be a moderate and a liberal because being a liberal  means that the person rejects the fundamental principal of his own religion as well as the fundamental principals of his country.

As a Muslim, he must understand that a Muslim must obey the fundamental principal of Islam and Islam cannot be liberalised.

It is very unfortunate for a Muslim to be a liberal because rejecting the principal of Islam is against the rules of Islam and will affect his ‘akidah’.

Has Tun Musa Hitam forgotten that Clause 3.3 of the Umno Constitution states that Umno will defend and spread Islam?

And liberal is against Islam.

It is very sad to see a former leader who not only had forgotten the core spirit of his party but also proud to reject the fundamental principals of his country, for Islam is the religion of the Federation of Malaysia.