The New King Of Malaysia

Today His Majesty Tuanku Abdul Halim is the new Yang di-Pertuan Agong (the king) of Malaysia.

His Majesty Tuanku Abdul Halim replace His Majesty Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin.

Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin is the Sultan of Terengganu while Tuanku Abdul Halim is the Sultan of Kedah.

His Majesty Tuanku Abdul Halim is the first Sultan that has been the Yang  di-Pertuan Agong twice.

Tuanku Abdul Halim had been the Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia for the first time from 1970-1975.

All the Malaysian sultans take turn to be the Yang di-Pertuan Agong for 5 years.

Pos Malaysia New Issue: Institusi Diraja/Royal Institution

On December 12, 2011  Pos Malaysia issued a new set of special issue stamps – Institusi Diraja or Royal Institution.

I went to the Daya Bumi Post Office in Kuala Lumpur to buy the new stamps.

They are very beautiful.

The 60 sen, 80 sen and 90 sen each has photo of different Royal Regalia of Malaysia.

Here are the stamps:

The 60 sen Gandik Diraja or the Royal Tiara stamp shows the tiara of the Her Majesty Raja Permaisuri Agong of Malaysia.

The 80 cents Pending Diraja or the Royal Waist Buckle stamp shows the royal belt of His Majesty Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia.

The 90 cents singgahsana or the throne stamp shows the royal throne used for special official royal ceremonies.